This Week in Texas: September 18, 2013

Posted September 18, 2013 in The Mignon Memo

Lt. Governor David Dewhurst has appointed members to the newly created Senate Select Committee on Transportation Funding.  Sen. Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands) will chair the committee and Sen. Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville)
will serve as vice-chair.  Other members named to the panel include Sens. Juan
“Chuy” Hinojosa
( D-McAllen), Donna Campbell (R-New Braunfels), Kevin Eltife (R-Tyler), Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo), Kelly Hancock (R-North Richland Hills), Carlos Uresti (D-San Antonio) and Judith Zaffirini (D-Laredo).  The committee, created by House Bill 1 from the Third Called Session of the 83rd Legislature, will oversee highway infrastructure improvements.  Dewhurst has asked the committee to specifically look into roads targeted for conversion from paved to unpaved by the Texas Department of Transportation.

The November 5th general election date is quickly approaching. Eligible Texans who are not registered to vote must register by October 7, 2013 to vote in the election.  The early voting period is October 21 through November 1.