This Week in Texas: May 30, 2012

Posted May 30, 2012 in The Mignon Memo

The 2012 Texas primary election results are in.  The following is a brief recap.  If you would like to see exact percentages, follow this link to the Texas Secretary of State’s website:  The primary runoff election will be held July

U.S. Senate seat 

Lt. Governor David Dewhurst and Ted Cruz will face off in the Republican primary runoff.  Tom Leppert came in a distant third.  The Democratic primary ended in a runoff between former Texas House member Paul Sadler and Grady Yarbrough.

Congressional races

Twenty Congressional incumbents faced a contested primary.  Only one incumbent was defeated. Congressman Silvestre Reyes (D-El Paso) was defeated by Beto O’Rourke in the Democratic primary for CD 16.  O’Rourke will face Republican Barbara Carrasco in the general election.   Of the six open seats, five involved contested primaries.  In CD 35, Congressman Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin), who moved into the newly drawn district, won his primary race and will face Republican Susan Navariz in the general election.  The remaining open seats will involve runoff elections.  In CD 14, State Rep. Randy Weber (R-Pearland) will face Felicia Harris in the Republic primary runoff.  In the Republican primary runoff in CD 25, former Texas Secretary of State Roger Williams will face Wes Riddle.  In CD 33, State Rep. Mark Veasey (D-Ft. Worth) will face former Texas House member Domingo Garcia in the Democratic primary runoff election.  In the Democratic primary runoff in CD 34, Filemon Vela will face Denise Saenz Blanchard.  In the Republican primary runoff for CD 34, Adela Garza will face Jessica Puente Bradshaw. In CD 36, Steve Stockman and Stephen Takach will compete in the Republican primary runoff.

Statewide Races 

There were two contested primary races involving seats on the Texas Railroad Commission and both will result in runoff elections.  In Place 1, State Rep. Warren Chisum (R-Pampa) and Christi Craddick were the top two candidates who will face each other in the runoff election. The victor will compete with Democrat Dale Henry in the general election.  In Place 2, incumbent Railroad Commissioner Barry Smitherman will compete with Greg Parker in the Republican party runoff election.  The winner faces no major party opposition in November.

There were two contested primary races involving seats on the Texas Supreme Court.  In Place 2, incumbent Justice Don Willett defeated Steve Smith. In Place 4, incumbent Justice David Medina wound up in a runoff against John Devine.

Texas Senate 

Six incumbent Texas Senators faced a contested primary.  Senators Robert Nichols (R-Jacksonville), Tommy Williams (R-The Woodlands), Robert Duncan (R-Lubbock), Craig Estes (R-Wichita Falls) and Kel Seliger (R-Amarillo) won handily.  In a closely watched race, Sen. Jeff Wentworth (R- San Antonio) wound up in a runoff with Donna Campbell. There were contested primary races in three open seats. Rep. Kelly Hancock (R-Ft. Worth) defeated Rep. Todd Smith (R-Ft. Worth) in Senate District 9.  Hancock will face Democrat Pete Martinez in November.   Rep. Charles Schwertner (R-Georgetown) defeated Ben Bius in Senate District 5 and faces no major party opposition in November.  Rep. Larry Taylor (R-League City) defeated two primary opponents in Senate District 11. He will face Democrat Jacqueline Acquistapace in November.

Texas House 

Forty-five House incumbents had contested primary races. Two of those incumbents were paired in one district.  Meanwhile, there were 30 open seats, many involving contested primary races.  Seven incumbents were defeated in the primary elections.  Rep. Leo Berman (R-Tyler) was defeated by Matt Schaefer. Rep. Wayne Christian (R-Center) was defeated by Chris Paddie. Rep. Marva Beck (R-Centerville) was defeated by Trent Ashby. Rep. Barbara Nash (R-Ft. Worth) was defeated by Matt Krause. Rep.  Mike “Tuffy” Hamilton (R-Mauriceville) was defeated by Rep. James White (R-Lufkin), Rep. Rob Eissler (R-The Woodlands) was defeated by Steve Toth, and Vicki Truitt (R-Keller) was defeated by Giovanni Capriglione. Four House incumbents will face run-offs including: Representatives J.M. Lozano (R-Kingsville) against Bill Wilson, Sid Miller (R-Stephenville) against JD Sheffield, Jim Landtroop (R-Plainview) against Ken King,and Chuck Hopson (R-Jacksonville) against Travis Clardy.  There will be run-offs in thirteen other House districts:

Republican primary runoffs:

HD 12: Tucker Anderson v. Kyle Kacal

HD 23: Wayne Faircloth v. Bill Wallace

HD 24: Greg Bonnen v. Ryan Sitton

HD 26: Rick Miller v. Jacquie Chaumette

HD 67: Jon Cole v. Jeff Leach

HD 68: Trent McKnight v. Drew Springer

HD 91: Ken Sapp v. Stephanie Klick

HD 114: Bill Keffer v. Jason Villalba

HD 115: Bennett Ratliff v. Steve Nguyen

Democratic primary runoffs:

HD 40: Terry Canales v. Auggie Hernandez

HD 95: Nicole Collier v. Jesse Gaines

HD 117: Phillip Cortez v. Tina Torres

HD 137: Jamaal Smith v. Gene Wu

State Board of Education

Seven incumbent members of the State Board of Education faced primary opposition and three were defeated.  In District 3, Board member Michael Soto was defeated by Marisa Perez in the Democratic primary.  District 12 incumbent George Clayton did not make the Republican primary runoff. That will be a contest between former SBOE member Geraldine “Tincy” Miller and Gail Spurlock.  In District 14, Board member Gail Lowe was defeated by Sue Melton in the Republican primary.  Incumbents who won their primaries include District 5 Board member Ken Mercer; District 7 Board member David Bradley; District 8 Board member Barbara Cargill; and District 9 Board member Thomas Ratliff.  Bradley, Ratliff and Melton do not have any major party opposition in November.

There were five open seats. Democrat Martha Dominguez was the winner of the Democratic primary in District 1. She faces no major opposition in the general election. In District 2, Republican Laurie Turner will compete against the winner of a runoff election between Democrats Celeste Zepeda Sanchez and Ruben Cortez, Jr.  In District 6, Republican Donna Bahorich will face Democrat Traci Jensen. In District 10, Democrat Judy Jennings will compete against the winner of the Republican primary runoff between Tom Maynard and Rebecca Osbourne. In District 15, Republican Marty Rowley will face Democrat Steve Schafersman in the general election.