This Week in Texas: January 6, 2010

Posted January 9, 2010 in The Mignon Memo

The cast list is set for the 2010 elections. Here is a brief recap:

In the Republican gubernatorial primary, Kay Bailey Hutchison and Debra Medina will challenge Governor Rick Perry. Democrats Bill White and Farouk Shami along with five other Democrats will compete to take on the Republican primary winner.

Democrats Marc Katz, Ronnie Earle and Linda Chavez-Thompson will face each other in the Democratic primary for lieutenant governor. The winner will face Republican incumbent Lt. Governor David Dewhurst in the general election.

Texas Attorney General Greg Abbott will face Democrat Barbara Ann Radnofsky in the general election in the attorney general race.

Republican incumbent Susan Combs faces no major party opposition in her reelection bid for the office of state comptroller.

Republican Todd Staples, Texas Agriculture Commissioner, will be challenged in the general election by either Kinky Friedman or Hank Gilbert.

Republican incumbent Land Commission Jerry Patterson will face one of two Democrats in the general election in November: Hector Uribe or Bill Burton.

One seat on the Texas Railroad Commission is up for reelection. Incumbent Republican Victor Carrillo faces a primary challenge from David Porter. The winner will face Jeff Weems in the general election.

Texas House

In the Texas House, all 150 seats are up for reelection. Eight seats are open races due to the retirements of Frank Corte, Joe Crabb, David Farabee, Kino Flores, Dan Gattis, Carl Isett, Brian McCall and David Swinford. Fifteen Republican incumbents in the Texas House have primary challengers: Dan Flynn, Betty Brown, Fred Brown, Chuck Hopson, Edmund Kuempel, Rob Orr, Sid Miller, Myra Crownover, Delwin Jones, Kelly Hancock, Todd Smith, Vicki Truitt, Charlie Geren, Tommy Merritt and John Davis.

Eight House Democrats face contested primaries: Eddie Lucio III, Mando Martinez, Tara Rios Ybarra, Terri Hodge, Patrick Rose, Norma Chavez, Doro Olivo and Al Edwards. Fifty-one incumbents face general election challengers with a few facing primary and general election challenges. Seventy-two incumbent House members face no major party opposition.

Texas Senate

In the Texas Senate, 15 Senate seats are up for reelection. Four Republican incumbents face contested primaries: Kip Averitt; Bob Deuell; Steve Ogden; and Florence Shapiro. Seven incumbents will face at least one major party opponent in the general election in November: Bob Deuell; Rodney Ellis; Glenn Hegar; Steve Ogden; Carlos Uresti; Kirk Watson and John Whitmire. Five have earned themselves a free ride with no opposition: Kevin Eltife; Jane Nelson; Robert Nichols; Dan Patrick; and Jeff Wentworth. One seat – Senate District 29 being vacated by Sen. Eliot Shapleigh – will be decided in the Democratic primary. Three candidates have filed for the El Paso district: Jose Rodriguez; Louis Irwin; and Liza Montelongo.

State Board of Education

Races for the State Board of Education feature one contested Democratic primary and four contested seats now held by Republicans. Two current members are retiring from the SBOE. Rick Agosto (D-San Antonio) is vacating his District 3 seat. Michael Soto of San Antonio is the only Democrat seeking the seat. Republicans will choose between Tony Cunningham and Joanie Muenzler. Incumbent Cynthia Dunbar (R-Richardson) is retiring from her District 10 seat. Republicans seeking to replace Dunbar include Brian Russell of Austin; Marsha Farney of Georgetown; and Rebecca Osborne of Austin. Judy Jennings of Austin is the only Democrat running for the District 10 nomination. In District 5, incumbent Ken Mercer (R-San Antonio) faces Tim Tuggey in the Republican primary. The winner of that primary goes on to face the winner of the Democratic primary. Democrats contending for the District 5 nomination include Rebecca Bell-Meterau of Austin; Robert Bohmfolk of Seguin; Daniel Boone of Canyon Lake; and Josiah Ingalis of Austin. In District 9, incumbent Don McLeroy, (R-Bryan) faces a primary challenge from Thomas Ratliff, son of former Lt. Gov. Bill Ratliff. In District 12, incumbent Geraldine “Tincy” Miller (R-Dallas) faces a GOP primary challenge from Dallas educator George M. Clayton.