This Week in Texas: December 23, 2009

Posted December 23, 2009 in The Mignon Memo

There has been lots of activity in the world of Texas politics during the past week. Despite the holidays, we expect a few more surprises as we head toward the January 4th filing deadline.
Former Travis County District Attorney Ronnie Earle filed to run for lieutenant governor as a Democrat. So far, Earle is the only Democrat who has filed but Austin deli owner Marc Katz is also planning to run and Linda Chavez-Thompson is also considering the race. The winner of the Democratic primary in March will face Republican incumbent Lt. Gvr. David Dewhurst next fall.
Attorney General Greg Abbott has filed for reelection. Republican Ted Cruz who had been raising money to run for the post if Abbott ran for higher office has said he will not make the race since it will not be an open seat.

Rep. Carl Isett (R-Lubbock) announced that he will not seek reelection to his House District 84 seat. Isett, who has represented the district since 1996, will focus on his career in the U.S. Navy. Several individuals are said to be considering a run for the seat.

Austin attorney and businessman Jack McDonald announced that he will not run against incumbent Congressman Michael McCaul (R-Austin). McDonald, a Democrat, had been raising money for the past ten months for the race.

Democrat Michael L. Smith of Wichita Falls has filed to run for House District 69, currently represented by Rep. David Farabee (D-Wichita Falls) who is not running for reelection. Republicans Joe Clement and Lanham Lyle will also run for the open seat.

Democrat Andrew Backus of Driftwood will challenge Rep. Patrick Rose (D-Dripping Springs) in the Democratic primary for House District 45.

Republican Kurt Hyde of Corinth will challenge Rep. Myra Crownover (R-Lake Dallas) in the Republican primary for House District 64.

Republican Larry Keilberg has filed to run for the House District 90 seat currently held by Rep. Lon Burnham (D-Ft. Worth).

Republican Fernando Herrera will run against incumbent Rep. Jessica Farrar (D-Houston) in House District 148.

Republicans Jack O’Connor and Dianne Williams will run for House District 149 against incumbent Rep. Hubert Vo (D-Houston).