This Week in Texas: February 12, 2009

Posted February 12, 2009 in The Mignon Memo

The results are in! The Speaker announced House Committees today. Follow this link to view all the appointments which are broken down by committee. Once you reach the page, hit “Click this link” and the list will download.

So who are the lucky House chairmen and women? Here is a list:

  • Speaker Pro Tempore Rep. Craig Eiland (D-Galveston)
  • Agriculture & Livestock Rep. Yvonne Gonzalez Toureilles (D-Alice)
  • Appropriations Rep. Jim Pitts (R-Waxahachie)
  • Border & Intergovernmental Affairs Rep. Veronica Gonzales (D-McAllen)
  • Business & Industry Rep. Joe Deshotel (D-Beaumont)
  • Calendars Rep. Brian McCall (R-Plano)
  • Corrections Rep. Jim McReynolds (D-Lufkin)
  • County Affairs Rep. Garnet Coleman (D-Houston)
  • Criminal Jurisprudence Rep. Pete Gallego (D-Alpine)
  • Culture, Recreation, & Tourism Rep. Mark Homer (D-Paris)
  • Defense & Veterans’ Affairs Rep. Frank Corte (R-San Antonio)
  • Elections Rep. Todd Smith (R-Bedford)
  • Energy Resources Rep. Jim Keffer (R-Eastland)
  • Environmental Regulation Rep. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana)
  • General Investigating & Ethics Rep. Chuck Hopson (D-Jacksonville)
  • Higher Education Rep. Dan Branch (R-Dallas)
  • House Administration Rep. Charlie Geren (R-Ft. Worth)
  • Human Services Rep. Patrick Rose (D-Dripping Springs)
  • Insurance Rep. John Smithee (R-Amarillo)
  • Judiciary & Civil Jurisprudence Rep. Todd Hunter (R- Corpus Christi)
  • Land & Resource Management Rep. Dennis Bonnen (R-Angleton)
  • Licensing & Administrative Procedures Rep. Edmund Kuempel (R-Seguin)
  • Local & Consent Calendars Rep. Senfronia Thompson (D-Houston)
  • Natural Resources Rep. Alan Ritter (D-Beaumont)
  • Pensions, Investments & Financial Services Rep. Vicki Truitt (R-Southlake)
  • Public Education Rep. Rob Eissler (R- Houston)
  • Public Health Rep. Lois Kolkhorst (R-Brenham)
  • Public Safety Rep. Tommy Merritt (R-Longview)
  • Redistricting Rep. Delwin Jones (R- Lubbock)
  • Rules & Resolutions Rep. Ruth Jones McClendon (D-San Antonio)
  • State Affairs Rep. Burt Solomons (R- Carrollton)
  • Technology, Economic Development & Workforce Rep. Mark Strama (D-Austin)
  • Transportation Rep. Joe Pickett (D-El Paso)
  • Urban Affairs Rep. Yvonne Davis (D-Dallas)
  • Ways & Means Rep. Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville)

The Speaker also created a Special Committee on Federal Economic Stabilization Funds which will be chaired by Rep. Jim Dunnam (D-Waco)

Key Dates

Tuesday, January 13, 2009 (first day) – 81st Legislature convened at Noon

Friday, March 13, 2009 (60th day) – Deadline for filing bills and joint resolutions other than local bills, emergency appropriations, and bills that have been declared an emergency by the Governor

Monday, June 1, 2009 (140th day) – Last day of 81st Regular Session; corrections only in House and Senate

Sunday, June 21, 2009 (20th day following adjournment) – Last day Governor can sign or veto bills passed during the regular legislative session

Monday, August 31, 2009 (91st day following final adjournment) – Date that bills without specific effective dates (that could not be effective immediately) become law